Two Guys Arguing

a thankful Level-X programmer

Posted in Uncategorized by benjaminplee on 04.08.09

After tonight’s Google Reader catch-up session, I happened across Jeff Atwood’s post: The Eight Levels of Programmers.  The article reminded me of a joke a friend of mine and I came up with a while back where we debated if all software developers could be given a numbered rank … where the rank corresponded to the number of future software versions required to replace them.  While we were really joking about some especially horrible code we had just found … the sad truth is lots of developers would have some low numbers (assuming companies were willing to pay for the upgraded software).

The article, my current project, the bad economy, and a few recent talks with my wife have got me thinking about how lucky I am.  I get paid to do something I would gladly do for free while working with some amazing people.  My wife, bless her heart, has a hard time understanding how I can work in front of a computer all day and still want to hack away at some personal project that night.  I am just lucky I guess.

Despite the luck, it’s a lot of hard work.  It’s amazing how fast things change and how no matter how many blogs/books/feeds you read, personal projects you work on, or how much experience you have … a year from now it might all be irrelevant. Add on top of that the difficulty of trying to make a name for yourself and honing your personal/communication/team/etc skills and your left with a daunting task.

I am not sure what the future holds, or what level of programmer (on either scale) I am today … but I DO know I want it higher tomorrow and am wiling to put in the time to make it happen.

 

… at least until the software becomes self aware and take over the world.  Then it’s time to see if hard coding all of those DO_NOT_KILL_LIST.add(“Benjamin P Lee”); really work.

 

** This is my first post from Windows Live Writer which I am trying upon @brianbuttonxp ‘s suggestion.  So far, so good.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.