Two Guys Arguing

Leading by Bleeding – my tech map

Posted in questions by benjaminplee on 05.26.09

Below is my take on a tech map (see previous post).  I had a hard time knowing where to draw the line (languages? librarys? tools?  processes and ideas?) and how to sort them.  I decided on three main areas.  “Bleeding Edge” are things that are popping up in Google Reader lately and/or things that seem to be gathering some traction are sound interesting.  “Working” are the main things going on day to day.  “On the way out’ aren’t things I think are going to be gone in a year or two , but things that seem to be less new and interesting news surrounding them.  Right or wrong its my take and I am a bit sad by the lack of knowledge in the bleeding edge area.  I am going to have to work on that.

Ben's Tech Map

Ben's Tech Map

Hopefully the words are legible in the image.  What do you think?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dave said, on 05.27.09 at 9:07 am

    Nice and simple. At first I was a bit confused (since “on the way out” is in the middle), but it looks pretty reasonable. I like “Crazy Ruby Testing Tools”…

    • benjaminplee said, on 05.27.09 at 9:34 am

      I liked your diagram better for showing the flow of the technologies. Honestly, this was just simpler. “Crazy Ruby Testing Tools” is because of the rapidly evolving and very different testing tools some coworkers of mine have been using lately on an internal Rails project. They can produce some pretty amazing tests compared to your average JUnit test. Thanks for the comments.

  2. benjaminplee said, on 08.07.09 at 8:34 am

    Nate, what are your thoughts on this?

  3. Luca Candela said, on 08.22.09 at 10:49 am

    I wouldn’t be too hasty in labeling Java “on the way out” but I agree with most of your assesments, and I also like very much the concise way you found to show both your competences and your vision of the state of technology!

    Good work, very inspiring.

  4. Daniel Grillo said, on 12.01.09 at 10:31 am

    And what about Delphi/Object Pascal?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.