Two Guys Arguing

Palm Pre SDK BSOD … Fixed!

Posted in Uncategorized by benjaminplee on 07.16.09

Today I downloaded the Palm Pre SDK (not the leaked version but the real one so far as I could tell) and was all set to try my hand at webOS …. when I restarted my machine to find that I could no longer login to Windows XP. As the logon process started, the screen would flicker and BSOD w/ the following error:

STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Failure}
The Windows Logon Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0xc0000139

Luckily a coworker burned me a KNOPPIX linux live CD and while sitting in my hotel room and bugging Mr Youngng for linux help I was able to find that several other people had ran into the same issue with the Palm Pre SDK and other software issues. The common culprit seemed to be a mixture of logon based .dll’s. Luckily I was able to copy msvcrt.dll from another installation to my broken one and was able to login once again.

** The one I found in the broken installation was last modified in 2000 (opposed to 2004 for the one that “worked”) and 1/3 smaller **

Hopefully this information will help some other poor fool as foolish as I.

http://discussion.treocentral.com/hardware-use-trouble-shooting/193137-blue-screen-after-sdk-install-5-tries-now.html

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.