Two Guys Arguing

hold my code for a second…

Posted in git by youngnh on 01.25.10

add, stash, edit, apply and reset

This is mostly a note on how I work with git. A lot of people used to subversion wonder why I’m so enamored of Linus Torvald’s latest project and I usually only explain enough of it to convince them that git is an elaborate and complicated tool for replicating a subversion workflow. This is a good example of a situation in which svn would fail you.

I try as much as possible to create a new branch every time I decide to work on a new unit of work. Oftentimes, I will just absent-mindedly start coding and be 4 or 5 commits deep before realizing that I forgot to branch (which is a situation git has tools to fix as well), but for this particular stretch of coding I was on a clean branch without any untracked files.

Shortly after starting, I found myself with 4 classes, none of which compiled. In a minimalist vein, at home I work with only emacs and ant when hacking on Java code. ant can cause a bit of scroll blindness when your code has compile errors, and the situation is only exacerbated when you don’t quite get Java generics.

One class was named WinLogicFactory, and it’s functionality was the end goal of this branch. The other 3 classes were support classes. They had resuable, general-purpose functionality that WinLogicFactory would use, but contained nothing specifically related to the application I was writing. I stole the idea of them from Haskell and the classes were named Either, Left and Right.

$ git status
# On branch winlogic_factory
# Untracked files:
#   (use "git add <file>..." to include in what will be committed)
#
#	src/com/twoguys/rps/WinLogicFactory.java
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Either.java
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Left.java
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Right.java

Before Either, Left and Right were fixed and compiling, I couldn’t fix WinLogicFactory, which would use them. A bit counter-intuitively I added WinLogicFactory to the index. This allowed me to stash my current index. That left only the generic classes in my working tree:

$ git add src/com/twoguys/rps/WinLogic.java
$ git stash
$ git status
# On branch winlogic_factory
# Untracked files:
#   (use "git add <file>..." to include in what will be committed)
#
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Either.java
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Left.java
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Right.java

Once I got Either, Left and Right compiling I could now start working on WinLogicFactory, so git stash apply restored the index with my broken factory in it. I had some more work to do to get it compiling and just to convince myself that I had really gotten my workspace back to it’s original state, so I ran a git reset, which effectively pulled any uncommitted changes out of staging in the index.

$ git stash apply
$ git reset
$ git status
# On branch winlogic_factory
# Untracked files:
#   (use "git add <file>..." to include in what will be committed)
#
#	src/com/twoguys/rps/WinLogicFactory.java
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Either.java
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Left.java
#	src/com/twoguys/util/Right.java

At this point, I could fix WinLogicFactory without worrying about simultaneous errors from Either, Left and Right.

Things that are worth noting:

  • staging content in git’s index is not simply another step that you have to perform before you can commit files you’ve edited. It’s how you tell git about any file you care about.
  • git can manipulate code that isn’t committed. commits are merely a little extra information attached to otherwise generally useful structures that git was already creating for you.
Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. benjaminplee said, on 01.25.10 at 10:11 pm

    I have found git-stash really useful for short term changes in focus but have also forgotten to apply stashes back correctly and ran into trouble.

    Did you ever decide on a branching/merging model for your team or a good way to describe your problem? After reading a few articles on Git branching and rebasing I feel like I need to go back and relearn what is going on behind the scenes. I am not sure if that points to user problems or software design problems.

  2. Heath Borders said, on 01.25.10 at 10:34 pm

    If you’d use a modern dev environment, you wouldn’t have to post compile questions to Twitter. ;)

    I’m pretty sure there’s an emacs plugin for eclipse.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.